top of page

Is Adoption Wrong?

 

When I was fourteen years old I fell in love for the first time. Unlike the other boys he was strong, brave, courageous, daring, and broken. Broken from watching

Photo Retrieved from:

http://sadboywallpaper.blogspot.com/2013/10/sad-boys-photos-and-girl-in-love-alone.html

his parent’s physically abuse one another, broken from coming home every day to them passed out drunk on the floor, broken from watching them slowly kill themselves, broken from being unwanted. Although he fought to keep a smile on his face, most days he would beg my parents to sleep on our couch. One day would turn to weeks with no call from his parents wondering why he was not coming home. For two whole years my boyfriend, my first love, lived at my house grateful to have a warm meal and people who truly cared about him. So, is adoption wrong? Are people who chose to place their children up from adoption selfish? Before my boyfriend was born his parent’s had a baby girl. Too young to care for her they decided to allow a family member to adopt her. Unlike her brother she was loved, cared for, and wanted. Unlike her brother she got a chance at life. So again I ask, is adoption wrong? What I think is wrong is a child suffering because his/her parents were too selfish to give them a chance at life. What is wrong is allowing children to grow up in unhealthy homes unwanted and unloved. What is wrong is the negative stigma surrounding the subject of adoption. Many women are often very close minded to the idea of adoption, choosing to either keep their child themselves or get rid of it immediately through abortion. Why is it more acceptable to kill an unborn child then it is to place it up for adoption? Although 10 years ago I was unable to save a helpless fifteen year old Boy looking for love and a family, I was able to find my calling in life. Because of him i was lead down the path I am on now. A path that will not only allow me to save children from the feeling of being unwanted, but it also gave me the drive to educate people about adoption because adoption should always be an option.

Retrieved from:

“Thirty-Six Couples Wait for Every One Baby Who is Adopted.” LifeNews.com. (2012). Retrieved September 22, 2016 from http://www.lifenews.com/2012/07/09/thirty-six-couples-wait-for-every-one-baby-who-is-adopted/


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page